Thursday, September 30, 2010

It’s raining Animation awards at Dilsukhnagar Arena

“Hugo vs Lino” and “Feel the punch” shine bright
On Septemebr 28, the final day of the 4-day Short & Documentary Film Festival of Hyderabad-2010 held at Ravindra Bharathi in Hyderabad, Dilsukhnagar Arena emerged victorious with two prestigious awards for its Animation films – Best Animation Film Award for “Hugo vs Lino” and Special Jury Award for “Feel the Punch”: both are High-Definition 3D Animation Short Films crafted by students of Dilsukhnagar Arena.

While this is the first award for “Hugo vs Lino”, the film “Feel the punch” already has a very prestigious award to its credit-The TASI Viewer’s Choice Award at India ’s biggest International Film Festival – Anifest India-2010. Two other student short films from Dilsukhnagar Arena were honoured with special screenings at the Short & Documentary Film Festival of Hyderabad-2010 organized by Hyderabad Film Club.

Veterans of the Telugu film industry Dr. D.Ramanaidu, Mrs. Jayasudha & Comedian AVS and the FDC Chairman Mr. Parthasaradhi gave away the awards to the winners.

The Hyderabad Film Club with the support of Andhra Pradesh State Film, Television & Theatre Development Corporation organized the Short & Documentary Film Festival of Hyderabad-2010 from September 24 to 28 at Hyderabad. The festival aims to map and reflect the exploding nature of the medium in its many facets of creativity and resistance. SDFFH-2010 attracted scores of entries across categories from film enthusiasts all over India .

Not less than 100 good short films and documentaries were screened at the festival and also some best foreign short and documentary films were also shown as part of the festival which turned out to be the favorite event of film lovers of Hyderabad . Apart from inaugural and valedictory, many other exciting events were organized throughout the festival. Discussion forum and interviews with directors were organized.

Special Jury Award at SDFFH - 2010

Best Animation Film Award at SDFFH - 2010